top of page


Ski resorts all have their own character. With this ski resort typology 5 types are presented, which allow a simple characterization. Combinations are conceivable.

Pass or valley area

The pass or valley area consists of a series of lifts whose valley stations are located on the same valley floor. Since such ski areas are often located on pass heights, the name pass area is also appropriate.

Rule of thumb: proportion of valley stations located on the same valley floor >50%.


Examples: Les Mosses, Kühtai, Passo Tonale, Kranjska Gora, Feldberg, Oberjoch, Sörenberg, Zürs (without connection), Snoqualmie


A special form of valley area is the arena, where ski lifts lead from a center to opposite peaks. As a rule, such ski areas are located in a valley basin. 


Rule of thumb: the sub-circle accessed by the lifts has an angle of about 180°.


Examples: Axamer Lizum, Isola 2000, Saas Fee

Summit area

In summit areas, the main part of the lift facilities is located at the summit. There is one main lift as a feeder to a summit. The majority of the lifts go to this summit.


Rule of thumb: proportion of mountain stations located on the summit >50%.


Examples: Diavolezza, Venet, Kronplatz, Charmey, Neunerköpfle, Les Diablerets.

Alp area

The characteristic of this area is that a limited number of feeder lifts lead to the actual ski area.


Rule of thumb: at least as many lifts continue from the top station as there are feeder lifts.


Examples: Scuol, Hochstuckli, Hoch Ybrig, Elm, Ratschings, Gargellen, Belalp, Nauders, Kitzsteinhorn, Seiser Alm.

Linked Ski Areas

Linked Ski Areas s are ski resorts that connect several of the above-mentioned types, or where the feeder lifts are of greater importance in terms of the range of slopes on offer. Most larger ski areas fall into this category.


Examples: Schmittenhöhe, Arlberg, Serfaus-Fiss-Ladis, Ischgl, Zermatt, 4Vallées, Portes du Soleil, Schladming, Zöblen-Schattwald.

bottom of page